Size: 5.75 x 8.25
Pages: 334

Fiction & Folklore
Mary Lee Settle Collection
Back to previous page

Know Nothing

Book III of The Beulah Quintet

Mary Lee Settle

Published: Apr 1 1996






OA Ebook



The inclusion of this book in the Open Carolina collection is made possible by the generous funding of

An unforgettable generational saga about the roots of American culture,class, identity, and the meaning of freedom

Set in the decades preceding the Civil War, Know Nothing tells the tragic tale of Peregrine Catlett and his second son, Johnny. The year 1837 brings a host of perils to their verdant West Virginia valley. Amid financial panic, debate over the abolition of slavery, and mounting tension between North and South, Peregrine considers freeing his slaves but believes that, with his children scattered, his only hope of retaining his plantation rests on the use of slave labor.

Johnny returns to this father's farm but stays only until the outbreak of hostilities. He soon loses sight of his reasons for joining the Confederate forces and ends up fighting both family and friends with disastrous results.

Mary Lee Settle was born in Charleston, West Virginia, and has lived in England, Turkey, and New York. Her novel Blood Tie won the National Book Award and her novel Choices received the Lillian Smith Award for fiction. Settle's other works include the novels Charley Bland, Celebration, The Clam Shell, The Love Eaters, The Kiss of Kin and a memoir, All the Brave Promises. Settle now lives in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Books, News & Resources!

Sign up to receive updates on new books, promotions, and USC Press news.